Abarthisti

Tuning & Modifications => Abarth Punto Evo => Topic started by: Kidd1992 on March 18, 2013, 12:08:25 pm

Title: Dyno Run with TMC
Post by: Kidd1992 on March 18, 2013, 12:08:25 pm
Just back from performance HQ got 150 wheel horsepower (mainline dyno small rollers) Russ calculated it at 220bhp at the flywheel! Massive torque figure too running 1.4bar of boost he was pretty impressed haha

Did two runs almost exactly the same result for both injectors hitting about 90% at top end. The likkle punto can't hold the boost though drops off pretty quick after 4100 :(

I do have a graph n'stuffs woln't let me upload on the phone
Title: Re: Dyno Run with TMC
Post by: Brucesarahabarth on March 18, 2013, 12:17:47 pm
Pretty impressive :Dwhere about did you get you dyno done? Cheers
Title: Re: Dyno Run with TMC
Post by: J_a_m_e_s on March 18, 2013, 12:24:19 pm
Stronger actuator spring needed??
Title: Re: Dyno Run with TMC
Post by: Kidd1992 on March 18, 2013, 12:45:28 pm
Yeah I rekon so James. Does flippin well to hold 1.4 bar steady for as long as it does. wait till i get the sheet uploaded the touque curve is insane!

Perfromace HQ:
http://www.performancehq.co.uk/

(http://imageshack.us/a/img208/332/dsc0037qm.jpg)
(http://imageshack.us/a/img823/9725/dsc0039gpn.jpg)
Title: Re: Dyno Run with TMC
Post by: sandys on March 18, 2013, 03:54:07 pm
220bhp from APE and TMC alone, sounds like a high estimate how did he come to that figure? Is he assuming 70bhp drag @ < 90mph that's humungous, 45-50 maybe.
Title: Re: Dyno Run with TMC
Post by: Griffs998 on March 18, 2013, 04:22:11 pm
i agree with sandys - a 70hp loss on a front wheel drive car at this power  is nuts in any scenrio other than you having square wheels fitted - i would imagine you'd be up around 200 at best - a new actuator spring has been tried on the 1446 turbo before with little difference - they dont seen to be quite as limp wristed as the springs on the IHI turbo - the graph your seeing (high midrange torque failing away fairly quickly) is symptomatic of a smll turbo with the boost turned up - smaller turbo's snap in hard at lower revs but run out of puff higher up - larger turbo's sort of 'surge' in and generally have more modest torque figures for their sizes but that torque figure is sustained for much longer leading to higher peak power - if you want more power an exhaust and a sport cat is needed among other things

If You want to see falling away have a look around at some tuned 500's - your power line keeps heading upwards after 4000is rpm so although the torque is dropping away its not falling off a cliff - some 500's actualy see their power line start going down after 4500ish rpm which is torque falling off a cliff with lead weights around is ankles   
Title: Re: Dyno Run with TMC
Post by: sandys on March 18, 2013, 05:20:29 pm
Here are my APE runs, you can see the drag line in green, flywheel power is measured wheel power + drag from rollers, the higher the speed the higher the drag losses from spinning two rollers per wheel. I do get between 60 & 70 hp losses but I am running in 5th pushing the rollers to > 120mph.

(https://lh4.googleusercontent.com/-qVwdudei4FU/UUdFW9TzQ_I/AAAAAAAAAmE/2GTepiiCHVo/s1364/image001.png)
Title: Re: Dyno Run with TMC
Post by: Kidd1992 on March 18, 2013, 05:21:46 pm
This comes up every time someone posts perfomance HQ figures ha

They use a mainline dyno which has tiny rollers compaired to normal so aswell as the standard flywheel > Wheel horsepower you get a maaaaad drop of horsepower reading because of the way it is setup to read figures. Blame the aussies and their killawatt's!! i was warned this argument would start! haha

I was more intersted to see if the car could use the tmc box properly wasnt going to mess up the wheel bhp is just a byproduct thought it'd slap a sheet up here.
Title: Re: Dyno Run with TMC
Post by: sandys on March 18, 2013, 05:27:31 pm
I see so you are saying they have higher drag as they'd be spinning faster than the MAHA for example, fair enough.
Title: Re: Dyno Run with TMC
Post by: Kidd1992 on March 18, 2013, 05:41:14 pm
^ Yeah
Title: Re: Dyno Run with TMC
Post by: Kidd1992 on March 25, 2013, 02:15:02 pm
My phone has been flipping out tried to post this about 10 times!

1.4 bar is hella lotta boost for that little amount of power, I turned it down to 7 on the TMC box. You guys think it'll be alright to run 8 anyone got a contact for the TMC guy on the forum so i can give him an email?
Title: Re: Dyno Run with TMC
Post by: sandys on March 25, 2013, 02:49:37 pm
Its a 1368cc engine that would in NA form likely put out less than 100hp, it needs boost and lots of fuel for the power, a stock SS  is putting out that much pressure, though it drops to holding 1.1bar to 6k, when you get a bit of overboost you see >1.6 bar.
Title: Re: Dyno Run with TMC
Post by: Kidd1992 on March 25, 2013, 03:43:07 pm
Thanks man  :thumb:

It's just I've seen a few cars push high boost like that and go kapow haha

I does seem a little high boost for the power, a Starlet Gt tubro 1300(ish)cc will run 240+ bhp on 1.4 bar with tiny likkle CT9 hybrid haha.



Title: Re: Dyno Run with TMC
Post by: Gary Miles on March 25, 2013, 04:24:16 pm
Hi, looks like you shoved my APE on the rollers!!! :whistle:
Title: Re: Dyno Run with TMC
Post by: mightydquinn on April 15, 2013, 03:05:02 pm
My phone has been flipping out tried to post this about 10 times!

1.4 bar is hella lotta boost 8 anyone got a contact for the TMC guy on the forum so i can give him an email?
Try tmcmotorsport.com
Title: Dyno Run with TMC
Post by: Nadeem on April 15, 2013, 05:45:14 pm
My phone has been flipping out tried to post this about 10 times!

1.4 bar is hella lotta boost for that little amount of power, I turned it down to 7 on the TMC box. You guys think it'll be alright to run 8 anyone got a contact for the TMC guy on the forum so i can give him an email?

From the research I've done on/off forum for NP is setting 7 and SS setting 6.  I've sold my TMC box since but I'm sure this was in the version of instructions I had.  They are recommendations and others have run higher, but in some cases have had problems.
Title: Re: Dyno Run with TMC
Post by: Kidd1992 on April 16, 2013, 09:18:15 am
Yeah it's on 7 now anyway Nadeem the little print off thinginie does say 6,7,8 are ok i'm fairly sure can't find it now though haha

I might get brave and turn it back up but it's ok till i can get a confirmed answer :) I did send off an email but i think there is something up with my email i havent been able to send properly!
Title: Re: Dyno Run with TMC
Post by: Gary Miles on April 16, 2013, 11:58:57 am
Hi, have you had any issues with fitting the TMC box on the EVO? any better on MPG?
Title: Re: Dyno Run with TMC
Post by: sandys on April 16, 2013, 12:08:46 pm
No real problem, initially I had some excessive boost cut, took it off disconnected battery and refitted the device and drove steady for a couple of days steadily increasing revs but didn’t give it excessive welly until I had covered a few miles, not had an issue since running 6, have been trying 7 doesn’t seem a great deal different, car feels fine, only done a few k on this setting but will pop it on the dyno again on the weekend confirm fuelling etc.

Negligible difference in mpg, marginally worse perhaps, nothing worth worrying about could easily be due to the colder weather. I've not done a >40mpg tank since fitting it but at the same time I have chnaged my journey to mainly motorway and am competing a lot more with the car so hard to compare.
Title: Re: Dyno Run with TMC
Post by: Kidd1992 on April 16, 2013, 03:49:41 pm
TMC box is easy peasy fit although i broke my engine cover clip (the one above the turbo was a little brittle with the heat) i've had no issues with it at all. It sits inside the old airbox :D (i have a cone)

The MPG yeah marginally worse but it's not a great MPG car anyway so what do you expect :P Plus your right foot might not help that...

For the price, it's worth it by a mile! Have no idea why the car isnt shipped 200+ in the first place... (bleh safety/EconENEMY)
Title: Re: Dyno Run with TMC
Post by: sandys on April 16, 2013, 04:16:50 pm
Yup broke engine cover too. :(