Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length


Author Topic: Dyno Run with TMC  (Read 6840 times)

Offline Kidd1992

  • Assetto Member
  • **
  • Posts: 69
  • Carlo Rating: 0
    • Montrose, Scotland
Dyno Run with TMC
« on: March 18, 2013, 12:08:25 pm »
Just back from performance HQ got 150 wheel horsepower (mainline dyno small rollers) Russ calculated it at 220bhp at the flywheel! Massive torque figure too running 1.4bar of boost he was pretty impressed haha

Did two runs almost exactly the same result for both injectors hitting about 90% at top end. The likkle punto can't hold the boost though drops off pretty quick after 4100 :(

I do have a graph n'stuffs woln't let me upload on the phone

AbarthForum.co.uk

  • Advertisement
  • ***

    Offline Brucesarahabarth

    • Esseesse Member
    • ***
    • Posts: 146
    • Carlo Rating: 0
    • its an abarth not Fiat punto :O
      • Angus, Scotland
    Re: Dyno Run with TMC
    « Reply #1 on: March 18, 2013, 12:17:47 pm »
    Pretty impressive :Dwhere about did you get you dyno done? Cheers
    White grande abarth, pan-roof,12v sub, alternative alloys, tmc box,bmc filter.

    Offline J_a_m_e_s

    • S2000 Member
    • *****
    • Posts: 1926
    • Carlo Rating: 1
    Re: Dyno Run with TMC
    « Reply #2 on: March 18, 2013, 12:24:19 pm »
    Stronger actuator spring needed??
    South Wales Member

    Offline Kidd1992

    • Assetto Member
    • **
    • Posts: 69
    • Carlo Rating: 0
      • Montrose, Scotland
    Re: Dyno Run with TMC
    « Reply #3 on: March 18, 2013, 12:45:28 pm »
    Yeah I rekon so James. Does flippin well to hold 1.4 bar steady for as long as it does. wait till i get the sheet uploaded the touque curve is insane!

    Perfromace HQ:
    http://www.performancehq.co.uk/


    « Last Edit: March 18, 2013, 12:56:58 pm by Kidd1992 »

    Offline sandys

    • S2000 Member
    • *****
    • Posts: 1296
    • Carlo Rating: 2
      • Bristol
    Re: Dyno Run with TMC
    « Reply #4 on: March 18, 2013, 03:54:07 pm »
    220bhp from APE and TMC alone, sounds like a high estimate how did he come to that figure? Is he assuming 70bhp drag @ < 90mph that's humungous, 45-50 maybe.
    « Last Edit: March 18, 2013, 04:00:14 pm by sandys »

    Offline Griffs998

    • Assetto Corse Member
    • ****
    • Posts: 277
    • Carlo Rating: 0
    Re: Dyno Run with TMC
    « Reply #5 on: March 18, 2013, 04:22:11 pm »
    i agree with sandys - a 70hp loss on a front wheel drive car at this power  is nuts in any scenrio other than you having square wheels fitted - i would imagine you'd be up around 200 at best - a new actuator spring has been tried on the 1446 turbo before with little difference - they dont seen to be quite as limp wristed as the springs on the IHI turbo - the graph your seeing (high midrange torque failing away fairly quickly) is symptomatic of a smll turbo with the boost turned up - smaller turbo's snap in hard at lower revs but run out of puff higher up - larger turbo's sort of 'surge' in and generally have more modest torque figures for their sizes but that torque figure is sustained for much longer leading to higher peak power - if you want more power an exhaust and a sport cat is needed among other things

    If You want to see falling away have a look around at some tuned 500's - your power line keeps heading upwards after 4000is rpm so although the torque is dropping away its not falling off a cliff - some 500's actualy see their power line start going down after 4500ish rpm which is torque falling off a cliff with lead weights around is ankles   
    « Last Edit: March 18, 2013, 04:25:27 pm by Griffs998 »

    Offline sandys

    • S2000 Member
    • *****
    • Posts: 1296
    • Carlo Rating: 2
      • Bristol
    Re: Dyno Run with TMC
    « Reply #6 on: March 18, 2013, 05:20:29 pm »
    Here are my APE runs, you can see the drag line in green, flywheel power is measured wheel power + drag from rollers, the higher the speed the higher the drag losses from spinning two rollers per wheel. I do get between 60 & 70 hp losses but I am running in 5th pushing the rollers to > 120mph.


    Offline Kidd1992

    • Assetto Member
    • **
    • Posts: 69
    • Carlo Rating: 0
      • Montrose, Scotland
    Re: Dyno Run with TMC
    « Reply #7 on: March 18, 2013, 05:21:46 pm »
    This comes up every time someone posts perfomance HQ figures ha

    They use a mainline dyno which has tiny rollers compaired to normal so aswell as the standard flywheel > Wheel horsepower you get a maaaaad drop of horsepower reading because of the way it is setup to read figures. Blame the aussies and their killawatt's!! i was warned this argument would start! haha

    I was more intersted to see if the car could use the tmc box properly wasnt going to mess up the wheel bhp is just a byproduct thought it'd slap a sheet up here.
    « Last Edit: March 18, 2013, 05:30:15 pm by Mr Dog »

    Offline sandys

    • S2000 Member
    • *****
    • Posts: 1296
    • Carlo Rating: 2
      • Bristol
    Re: Dyno Run with TMC
    « Reply #8 on: March 18, 2013, 05:27:31 pm »
    I see so you are saying they have higher drag as they'd be spinning faster than the MAHA for example, fair enough.
    « Last Edit: March 18, 2013, 05:39:21 pm by sandys »

    Offline Kidd1992

    • Assetto Member
    • **
    • Posts: 69
    • Carlo Rating: 0
      • Montrose, Scotland
    Re: Dyno Run with TMC
    « Reply #9 on: March 18, 2013, 05:41:14 pm »
    ^ Yeah

    Offline Kidd1992

    • Assetto Member
    • **
    • Posts: 69
    • Carlo Rating: 0
      • Montrose, Scotland
    Re: Dyno Run with TMC
    « Reply #10 on: March 25, 2013, 02:15:02 pm »
    My phone has been flipping out tried to post this about 10 times!

    1.4 bar is hella lotta boost for that little amount of power, I turned it down to 7 on the TMC box. You guys think it'll be alright to run 8 anyone got a contact for the TMC guy on the forum so i can give him an email?

    Offline sandys

    • S2000 Member
    • *****
    • Posts: 1296
    • Carlo Rating: 2
      • Bristol
    Re: Dyno Run with TMC
    « Reply #11 on: March 25, 2013, 02:49:37 pm »
    Its a 1368cc engine that would in NA form likely put out less than 100hp, it needs boost and lots of fuel for the power, a stock SS  is putting out that much pressure, though it drops to holding 1.1bar to 6k, when you get a bit of overboost you see >1.6 bar.

    Offline Kidd1992

    • Assetto Member
    • **
    • Posts: 69
    • Carlo Rating: 0
      • Montrose, Scotland
    Re: Dyno Run with TMC
    « Reply #12 on: March 25, 2013, 03:43:07 pm »
    Thanks man  :thumb:

    It's just I've seen a few cars push high boost like that and go kapow haha

    I does seem a little high boost for the power, a Starlet Gt tubro 1300(ish)cc will run 240+ bhp on 1.4 bar with tiny likkle CT9 hybrid haha.




    Offline Gary Miles

    • S2000 Member
    • *****
    • Posts: 853
    • Carlo Rating: 4
      • Corby
    Re: Dyno Run with TMC
    « Reply #13 on: March 25, 2013, 04:24:16 pm »
    Hi, looks like you shoved my APE on the rollers!!! :whistle:

    Offline mightydquinn

    • S2000 Member
    • *****
    • Posts: 3141
    • Carlo Rating: 3
    • YELLOW is the new White
      • bradford yorkshire
    Re: Dyno Run with TMC
    « Reply #14 on: April 15, 2013, 03:05:02 pm »
    My phone has been flipping out tried to post this about 10 times!

    1.4 bar is hella lotta boost 8 anyone got a contact for the TMC guy on the forum so i can give him an email?
    Try tmcmotorsport.com

     

    hungry