Abarthisti

Tuning & Modifications => Abarth Punto Evo => Topic started by: forester on April 16, 2011, 10:22:48 am

Title: Mito ECU?
Post by: forester on April 16, 2011, 10:22:48 am
Hi quick question
Could a Alfa mito 170 bhp ecu be used on a abarth as it’s the same engine I think?
Title: Re: Mito ECU?
Post by: olopboy on April 16, 2011, 10:31:41 am
Split and moved the question here as its far more appropriate.

As the Alfa's have the DNA switch maps I wouldn't have thought so but that's pure speculation.
Title: Re: Mito ECU?
Post by: sandys on April 16, 2011, 10:38:55 am
Chances are you could fit the whole lot to the Punto as there will be minimal difference between the models from a cost saving perspective, the whole reason for platform sharing.

Its a bit pointless for a couple of bhp, you'd probably need to do some work with the other computers too as I'd hazard a guess that the communications are coded and expect to speak to a particular ID.

Do what others do and fit a TMC or something, cheaper and easier, blimey you could probably get 5bhp by an exhaust or air filter, perhaps look at a new IC but swapping to Mito ECU pretty pointless.

Considering the number of 170s I see in the engine bay I'd be surprised if there was much difference between them at all just marketing, I know a few years back we had a dyno day and tested a 140 147 and 150bhp GT JTD both cars put out ~148bhp.
Title: Re: Mito ECU?
Post by: forester on April 16, 2011, 11:00:01 am

Hi yea thinking about it, it would be coded to the body computer, ignition module etc.
Sorry was not thinking straight early in the morning and all that.
Title: Re: Mito ECU?
Post by: KrystenCTR on September 24, 2011, 08:15:31 pm
A virgin ECU would need coding, but might work theoretically!