Abarthisti

Abarth Cars => Abarth Punto Evo => Topic started by: APE-N.I on September 14, 2011, 11:05:13 am

Title: Sat Nav for APE
Post by: APE-N.I on September 14, 2011, 11:05:13 am
I have read the previous post on the sat nav compatability before but i'm still unsure. I was on SG petch webpage and found this...http://www.sgpetchmerchandise.co.uk/abarth/life/blue-and-me-tomtom-sat-nav.html (http://www.sgpetchmerchandise.co.uk/abarth/life/blue-and-me-tomtom-sat-nav.html)

you can see the car it is fitted to in the picture is a fiat punto evo not an abarth punto evo.

They have it listed as an abarth accessory but will this function properly as it's a fiat accessory ? i.e will it work with the blue and me function and will it sync with the car. I just want to make sure that i will be able to get the proper use out of it with my abarth punto evo. thanks
Title: Re: Sat Nav for APE
Post by: olopboy on September 14, 2011, 11:11:11 am
As per all the other threads, it will work as a sat nav but will not pair with the B&M as it is missing the car signature file the car/unit pairing needs to be sucessful.
Title: Re: Sat Nav for APE
Post by: John501 on September 14, 2011, 11:11:27 am
Firstly that's the old model, the new one has live updates which this one doesn't.
Secondly there is no way on this planet that this unit will pair with an Abarth model.
I spent a huge amount of time talking Fiat, Abarth and Tom Tom when the unit was originally launched and the problem lies with the car.
With a Fiat there is a software file in the car which tells the Tom Tom which modeal and colour of car you have so it can change the car on the screen to match you vehicle.
That file is missing from the Abarth product so the Tom Tom assumes there is a fault and will not pair with the car.

The file cannot be added to the car so it will never happen.

On a brighter note, I have used the older model and have now upgraded to the live unit.
Both are very good as long as all you want is a satnav with no wires :wave:
Title: Re: Sat Nav for APE
Post by: garyskisplym on September 14, 2011, 11:12:44 am
It will only work as a sat nav. It willnot syc with car or blue and me.

But as far as it goes as a sat nav it's a good unit, I've borrowed my dads afew time and it easy to use and brillant when you stop as can just pull it out and hide it not worrying about hiding wires or any of that
Title: Re: Sat Nav for APE
Post by: sandys on September 14, 2011, 11:17:54 am
John, Abarth keep advertising this telemetry version at the motor show surely it must really exist by now or they'd give up mentioning it wouldn't they?
Title: Re: Sat Nav for APE
Post by: John501 on September 14, 2011, 11:29:24 am
I exists in Italy and apparently it works quite well over there.
I does not work well in the U.K. :thumbd:
Title: Re: Sat Nav for APE
Post by: sandys on September 14, 2011, 11:37:11 am
Can't you just get the italian one, chnage the language and hey presto there you are ???
Title: Re: Sat Nav for APE
Post by: APE-N.I on September 14, 2011, 11:43:41 am
thanks for the help. I'm sort of disappointed thats theres nothing especially for the abarth punto evo. i cant warrant spending nearly £300 on a new sat nav that does no more than my existing sat nav, except for the fact it plugs into the dash
Title: Re: Sat Nav for APE
Post by: John501 on September 14, 2011, 11:45:09 am
Can't you just get the italian one, chnage the language and hey presto there you are ???

No, I had one of the Italian ones and it was rubbish :thumbd:
Title: Re: Sat Nav for APE
Post by: sandys on September 14, 2011, 11:46:28 am
such a shame as the idea is a great one as is the port.
Title: Re: Sat Nav for APE
Post by: 3k5k on September 14, 2011, 12:50:32 pm
Keep an eye out on Ebay. Bought mine for £150 quid, worth the money alone to have no wires.
Title: Re: Sat Nav for APE
Post by: sandys on September 14, 2011, 01:09:51 pm
Yup I thought about it but don't want to spend 150 for Abarth to come out with a unit next week.

I'll just stick my smart phone to the window until its sorted, if it doesn't get sorted they don't get my money, simple.

just be nice to have all the telemetry stuff in one unit as at the mo I have to stick my gps receiver in the car and secure the compute unit plus remember to charge them both an then of course they need to last a trackday which at the mo requires me to power them down when not in use to last the entire day.
Title: Re: Sat Nav for APE
Post by: MarcoPolo on September 14, 2011, 08:40:01 pm
I'm getting the impression that if FIAT bought a brewery, and decided to throw a party it wouldn't be a success...if you get my drift.  ::)
Title: Re: Sat Nav for APE
Post by: garyskisplym on September 14, 2011, 08:45:40 pm
I'm getting the impression that if FIAT bought a brewery, and decided to throw a party it wouldn't be a success...if you get my drift.  ::)

It would if they invited use ;)
Title: Re: Sat Nav for APE
Post by: lloyd on September 14, 2011, 08:46:51 pm
i enjoyed the abarth barbecue....sorry :whistle:
Title: Re: Sat Nav for APE
Post by: MarcoPolo on September 14, 2011, 09:57:48 pm
The new EVO Supersport is being promoted with "Telemetry"  
Wossalldataboutden ???
Title: Re: Sat Nav for APE
Post by: John501 on September 14, 2011, 10:52:41 pm
Translation:
For the Italian market :wave:
Title: Re: Sat Nav for APE
Post by: KaiK on December 08, 2011, 06:54:57 pm
I have just bought an Abarth Sat Nav Unit with Telemetry for my Evo from an Abarth dealer in Essen Germany. Not cheap at £340 but works no problem in my Evo, pairs up with Blue and Me in my car. Sat Nav is excellent with option of multi-languages, I haven't had a chance to try out the telemetry yet so when I do, I will let you know.

Part number is 5743391 if anyone interested.

Not sure whether it's available in the UK though or what price as mine comes from Germany!
Title: Re: Sat Nav for APE
Post by: sandys on December 09, 2011, 12:07:56 am
I expected as much but wasn't confident enough to take a punt, give a full write up once you've had a good play.

Full european mapping I take it, does the mount and unit fit in the car anywhere when you park, the glovebox is small I struggle to get my smartphone mount in.
Title: Re: Sat Nav for APE
Post by: John501 on December 09, 2011, 09:59:18 am
I have managed to order one of these to see what it's like.
Dont hold your breath as it may never arrive but if it does we will see if it works in the U.K. :wave:
Title: Re: Sat Nav for APE
Post by: KaiK on December 09, 2011, 06:06:39 pm
Fully fits the Evo, bluetooth connection works no problem, voice activation and dashboard mapping compliant once paired up, full european maps included and the best bit; the telemetry works! Works with engine speed and gear in use, with some sort of mapping, I presume for when use on track. Has preset race tracks on the nav which includes the likes of Brands Hatch, Silverstone, Rockingham and other popular european tracks as well. Not tried on tracks yet so cannot comment.

Fully recommend one for the gadget people, as it's a great toy (I mean tool) to play with if you can justify it's price to pay of £340 or thereabouts depending on the euro exchange rate. Fits the A500 as well.

Downside: being a european model, it comes with a euro 2-pin plug but add an aditional UK 3-pin adaptor to it, then charges up no problem.

So far, I'm very happy with it, worth the effort in finding out and locating German dealer to purchase one.  :)  :thumb:
Title: Re: Sat Nav for APE
Post by: Ninjauk on December 09, 2011, 06:09:23 pm
There is no hook up port on the 500 so where did you try it?
Title: Re: Sat Nav for APE
Post by: KaiK on December 09, 2011, 06:14:29 pm
I expected as much but wasn't confident enough to take a punt, give a full write up once you've had a good play.

Full european mapping I take it, does the mount and unit fit in the car anywhere when you park, the glovebox is small I struggle to get my smartphone mount in.

Yes, full european mapping included, multi-languages option as well and mount fits well in the dashboard slot, charges up the nav unit whilst in use and fits in the glovebox absolutely no problem, quite a small mount. Eliminates all those unwanted and unsightly wires completely, just mount and sat nav, that's it.  :thumb:
Title: Re: Sat Nav for APE
Post by: craigfowell on December 09, 2011, 06:25:35 pm
what was the name of the abarth dealer in germany and was it a website or did you phoen them up
cheers
Title: Re: Sat Nav for APE
Post by: KaiK on December 09, 2011, 06:33:31 pm
what was the name of the abarth dealer in germany and was it a website or did you phoen them up
cheers

Bought my nav unit directly from them at the premises.

Dealer: Fiat Automobil Vertriebs GmbH
            Niederlassung Rhein-Ruhr
            Center Essen
Address: Haedenkampstrasse 71-73
              45143 Essen
Telephone: (02 01) 3 19 50-208
Contact:  Mark Nohrn (speaks a little English)
Title: Re: Sat Nav for APE
Post by: KaiK on December 09, 2011, 06:37:11 pm
There is no hook up port on the 500 so where did you try it?

Sorry, didn't realise UK 500's doesn't come with a plug in port, must be only european 500's that does unless the new build 500's will have them. Picture in my Abarth brochure shows a 500 with a nav unit mounted to the dashboard.
Title: Re: Sat Nav for APE
Post by: Ninjauk on December 09, 2011, 06:41:59 pm
Thats where our boost gauge is?
Title: Re: Sat Nav for APE
Post by: KaiK on December 09, 2011, 06:51:56 pm
In that case, I retract my statement that it works in the A500's.   :oops:

Obviously, only works in the european A500's!

Something to advise Abarth to build into future UK A500's?
Title: Re: Sat Nav for APE
Post by: sandys on December 09, 2011, 07:31:11 pm
excellent, thanks for the update, don't suppose you know if its 1hz or 10hz updates in the track mode.

Can probably buy a UK tomtom charger.
Title: Re: Sat Nav for APE
Post by: K77NAN on December 10, 2011, 05:14:24 pm
Is it the same as these???

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/180772567965?ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1438.l2649
Title: Re: Sat Nav for APE
Post by: cyberdog on December 10, 2011, 05:47:53 pm
Or is it this horrible one??  This has caused me countless hours of grief as it won't pair up with my car...

http://www.ebay.de/itm/260900275123?redirect=mobile

C
Title: Re: Sat Nav for APE
Post by: John501 on December 10, 2011, 05:50:18 pm
That's the Fiat one, great sat nav but wont pair with the car.
Title: Re: Sat Nav for APE
Post by: cyberdog on December 10, 2011, 06:08:43 pm
I have both....  Neither pairs with my car :(

C
Title: Re: Sat Nav for APE
Post by: KaiK on December 12, 2011, 08:45:27 pm
Or is it this horrible one??  This has caused me countless hours of grief as it won't pair up with my car...

http://www.ebay.de/itm/260900275123?redirect=mobile

C

Hey Cyberdog. Spot on.

This is the one that I have purchased, pairs up in my Evo with absolutely no problems, bluetooth controls work, even displays direction on my dashboard with sat nav girl coming thgrough the car speakers when not listening to mp3 music. Make sure you enter the pairing pin into the sat nav unit obtained via the car through bluetooth and should be hey presto.  :thumb:
Title: Re: Sat Nav for APE
Post by: KaiK on December 12, 2011, 08:48:08 pm
Cyberdog. May not work with the A500's because you don't have the slot in the dashboard to fit the mount. My unit works via the mount support.  ???
Title: Re: Sat Nav for APE
Post by: Ninjauk on December 12, 2011, 09:55:15 pm
Cyber has a LHD I believe, so might have the port?
Title: Re: Sat Nav for APE
Post by: cyberdog on December 13, 2011, 05:56:41 am
I have a LHD as Ninjauk pointed out.  But the port is just a charger.  The unit communicates with the car via Bluetooth.  Mine won't pair up. It says that it does, the car even says B&M map in the display but when the chosen app fully loads there is a red cross on the bluetooth icon.  Don't know if it's the B&M in the car that's faulty or the unit.  It's been sent back to the dealer in Germany where I bought the car as it also was lacking most of the maps including Norway.. I haven't heard if they got it to work yet. 

Problem is my car won't accept the B&M Map update either, just says config error when I stick the USB in.  So might have been the car having the wrong B&M software as well.  No Abarth dealers in Norway and the stupid official one would 't touch it. The guy seemed clueless to what I was talking about even though they had a non Abarth GPE in the showroom with a Map unit in it..

So I had lots of frustrations with the damn expensive little bugger..  But it sure does look the business

C
C

C
Title: Re: Sat Nav for APE
Post by: cyberdog on December 13, 2011, 04:30:52 pm
No Abarth dealers in Norway and the stupid official one would 't touch it. The guy seemed clueless to what I was talking about even though they had a non Abarth GPE in the showroom with a Map unit in it..

I meant official Fiat dealer.  They are rubbish and has no interest in italian cars at all..

C
Title: Re: Sat Nav for APE
Post by: APE-N.I on December 13, 2011, 07:04:00 pm
Just bought the Fiat TomTom live for my APE today. At £300 it was far from cheap, and it probably will only be used the odd time but sure. It fits in that port and no more wires so happy days. It's my xmas present from my parents so no review as such yet !
Title: Re: Sat Nav for APE
Post by: skip67 on January 18, 2012, 02:49:04 pm
Any news on the potential arrival of this unit yet John?
Title: Re: Sat Nav for APE
Post by: John501 on January 18, 2012, 02:50:37 pm
Nope.
As I said, I'm not holding my breath  ;D
Title: Re: Sat Nav for APE
Post by: APE MAN on January 21, 2012, 01:06:38 am
I still feel well and truly ripped off after paying £300.00 for a Sat Nav that is worth no more than half as much without the pairing.  I bought what I thought was a Tom Tom Live that had just been developed for the Abarth Punto Evo.

I even drove 60 miles back to the dealer (Lipscombe in Maidstone) to ask them to try to pair it.  When they found (surprise suprised) that they couldn't pair it I asked for my money back and was told that I didn't have all of the parts.

I have the most wonderful car I have ever driven but I am let down by the dealer parts department selling me a sat nav that doesn't work.   

I know I had a legal case against the garage as I obviously bought the device as it was supposed to be a specialist Abarth Sat Nav that was designed to integrate with the car. 

In the unlikely event that they do introduce a new (compatible model) make sure you can see that it does Pair with the car, otherwise you might save your money and by a standard Tom Tom Live.
Title: Re: Sat Nav for APE
Post by: Yordan on January 21, 2012, 04:49:43 pm
What parts did they need??? The device, cable/charger and clip is all whats in the box plus cheap usb cable. It is clearly not fit for purpose. Well done lipscombe!?!
Title: Re: Sat Nav for APE
Post by: KaiK on January 22, 2012, 09:52:41 pm
I still feel well and truly ripped off after paying £300.00 for a Sat Nav that is worth no more than half as much without the pairing.  I bought what I thought was a Tom Tom Live that had just been developed for the Abarth Punto Evo.

I even drove 60 miles back to the dealer (Lipscombe in Maidstone) to ask them to try to pair it.  When they found (surprise suprised) that they couldn't pair it I asked for my money back and was told that I didn't have all of the parts.

I have the most wonderful car I have ever driven but I am let down by the dealer parts department selling me a sat nav that doesn't work.   

I know I had a legal case against the garage as I obviously bought the device as it was supposed to be a specialist Abarth Sat Nav that was designed to integrate with the car. 

In the unlikely event that they do introduce a new (compatible model) make sure you can see that it does Pair with the car, otherwise you might save your money and by a standard Tom Tom Live.


My Abarth Sat Nat Unit with telemetry, pairs with my Evo with no problems. Everything works although not  had opportunity to try telemetry on a track yet.
Title: Re: Sat Nav for APE
Post by: APE MAN on January 23, 2012, 09:56:57 pm
What parts did they need??? The device, cable/charger and clip is all whats in the box plus cheap usb cable. It is clearly not fit for purpose. Well done lipscombe!?!

The problem was whilst I was 99% sure there was nothing missing from the box, the fact that the parts department was telling me that I didn't have everything in the box, I felt I couldn't argue.   


Title: Re: Sat Nav for APE
Post by: lloyd on January 23, 2012, 09:58:48 pm
they still sold you something that didn;t work, ie not fit for purpose :thumbd:
Title: Re: Sat Nav for APE
Post by: APE MAN on January 23, 2012, 10:16:15 pm
KaiK,  What model have you got and when did you get your TomTom.   I bought mine with the car back in August.   At the time I was told by Lipscombe's parts department that it was the latest TomTom 2 Live 4GB which has been developed to be compatible for Abarths.    I thought that even the Dealers who post on here had said it was unlikely that we would ever see a compatible device for our cars.   

If I thought that there was something out there that worked I would probably try and sell mine and buy the correct one.   Don't get me wrong there is nothing wrong with the TomTom but I bought it to be compatible expecting it to work with voice and steering wheel controls and not compete with the sound system when it is issuing directions.
Title: Re: Sat Nav for APE
Post by: K77NAN on January 23, 2012, 10:55:40 pm
The problem was whilst I was 99% sure there was nothing missing from the box, the fact that the parts department was telling me that I didn't have everything in the box, I felt I couldn't argue.   

Did they not tell you what was supposedly missing from the box ???