Abarthisti

Tuning & Modifications => Aftermarket ICE, in car camera monitoring and go-pro installations => Topic started by: 695C on April 27, 2016, 11:05:17 pm

Title: Hard wiring a dash cam
Post by: 695C on April 27, 2016, 11:05:17 pm
Hi

Just noticed to day that someone has hit the front number plate of the car. So to be a little proactive I want to install a dash cam in order to have documentation if someone forgets to leave a note in the future.

I want to make the install as clean as possible, so I'm thinking of hard wiring the dash cam. I need a constant and acc, which should be easy to find in the fuse box. However I was thinking if it would be possible to find a constant and acc in the controls of the canvas?

Have any of you tried it?
Title: Re: Hard wiring a dash cam
Post by: jackslade on April 28, 2016, 07:44:59 am
Yes my blackvue has been hard wired in for sometime, it has parking mode motion detection and G force detection. Not cheap £200 upwards. But its small hides behind mirror. It has been in and running for over 3yrs not a problem. The main fault with dashcams is heat, not to bad in UK but they get very hot in summer, causing some to fail, again not had a problem with this.
Title: Re: Hard wiring a dash cam
Post by: Fish on April 28, 2016, 08:13:39 am
There is a fuse tray under our passenger side (your driver side) of the dash that could be used for the power feed.

Fish
Title: Re: Hard wiring a dash cam
Post by: paullly on May 04, 2016, 08:50:10 pm
I have used the fusebox mentioned, got some piggy back fuses, found a constant and an ignition, then fed the wire up the passanger windscreen trim, along the headlining and down the black part of the windscreen so only the actual camera lense is on show from the outside
Title: Re: Hard wiring a dash cam
Post by: fpan on May 04, 2016, 08:57:23 pm
By the way does someone know which is the fuse (and where the fusebox is :whistle:) for the the cigarette lighter power supply?

Cheers!